COVID-19 & the Texas Workforce Commission’s Unemployment Requirement

By June 30, 2020COVID-19

The Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) advises that employers will be protected from chargebacks should their associates separate due to COVID-19. To assist the state, they recommend that employers provide the following information to their associates:

  1. Benefits are available to associates who are unemployment and who meet the requirements of state eligibility laws.
  2. Claims may be filed for the first week that employment ends or work hours reduce.
  3. Claims may be filed online at or by phone at (800) 939-6631 from Monday-Friday, 8am-6pm.
  4. Applicants will need to provide the following information on their claim:
    1. Full legal name
    2. Social Security number
    3. Authorization to work (if not a US citizen or resident)

The state requires employers to post notices about associates’ ability to file for benefits. The state updated their poster, which can be found at


Our office will monitor COVID-19 updates closely and will send out additional announcements as we become aware of any updates. You can also review these updates on our website at too.

Please reach out to your representative with any questions.

Mike Parker

Author Mike Parker

Mike has 30 years of experience in unemployment cost control management, and has been with Thomas & Company for 25 years. He is the primary contact with state agencies building strong relationships, lobbying for opportunities that increase quality of service and efficiencies, and insuring compliance with state specific requirements. He works with the client service team, answering technical questions related to the unemployment insurance programs administered by the individual states and oversees the processes associated with wage audits and fraudulent claim inquiries. Mike is a member of the SIDES Operations Committee and currently sits on four Operations Committee subcommittees.

More posts by Mike Parker